learning process
Education Instructional Design

What is Learning Process? 5 Stages of Learning


The actions taken to acquire, comprehend, and recreate knowledge .It is the process by which a person or group uses, modifies, and replicates a structure or appropriates it.

READ ALSO : Learning Skills : What, Examples and How to Enhance

What is Learning Process

A procedure that individuals go through to learn new information and skills, which in turn affects their attitudes, judgments, and behavior.


Actions taken to accomplish educational goals. Although they are carried out separately, they occur in a cultural and social setting where people integrate their newly acquired knowledge with their preexisting cognitive frameworks.

The culmination of the instructional cycle, which also includes active testing, practical experiences, reflective observation, and abstract hypotheses.

Components of Learning Process

Higher order thinking, attention, memory, language, processing, and organizing, are the six components of learning process.


Not only do these processes interact with one another, but also with feelings, the environment in the classroom, conduct, social skills, teachers, and family.

Teachers must have a general understanding of the learning process, be able to recognize and respond to each student’s unique emotional and cognitive profiles, and choose instructional strategies and tactics that work for a variety of learners if they are to engage, motivate, and teach all students at optimal levels.

Levels of Learning Process


viewing, feeling, hearing, tasting, smelling, perceiving, meeting, approaching, experiencing, and pondering ,Questions about the pupils’ knowledge acquired prior knowledge.


The pupils need a way to (re-)activate their prior knowledge. asking inquiries .Can the students approach the subject in a way that prompts questioning?

Senses , Can the kids learn new information using their many senses?

Do children learn through sight, perception, hearing, listening, feelings and emotions, touch, taste, and smell, among other senses?

Processing and Storing of Information

preparing and preserving exploration, problem-solving, comprehension, acquisition, memorization, retention, repetition, and habituation

Are the materials organized in a way that the learning steps that came before make the ones that come after easier to complete?

A few references:
Can the pupils relate new material to what they already know?

Degree of achievement:

Are the assignments assigned to each student, whether they are male or female, tough and difficult but still doable?

Increasing comprehension:

Are the students’ allocated assignments and environments appropriate for them to improve their understanding of what they have learned?

Transfer of Information

Application transfer, adaptable handling, testing, taking on new tasks, assurance, access, and action

To prevent assessments like “learned but already forgotten,” “known but not understood or reflected,” “accomplished yesterday, already lost today,” or “learned but not used,” learning must always contain transfer possibilities for the students.

Controlling questions about information transfer ,Are findings reevaluated and rethought?
,more recent and sophisticated research.

Does the students’ finished learning sequence pique their interest in continuing or pursuing more advanced coursework?


5  Stages of Learning

Unconscious Incompetence

The learning stage known as unconscious incompetence occurs when the learner is completely ignorant.

Both of them lack competence in the area at hand and are unaware of it. The reason behind this is that the student “doesn’t know what they don’t know.” This phase could also be referred to as ignorance.

Conscious Incompetence

The learner recognizes their own limitations at the level of conscious incompetence. Since the student is motivated to move forward with their learning because they are aware that they have stuff to learn.

However, because they are attempting to reach a skill or level of knowledge that they are not yet capable of, the learner may also experience some dissatisfaction at this time.

Conscious Competence

When a student develops conscious competence, they are able to execute a job on their own and without teacher guidance.

To reduce errors, workers must nevertheless pay close attention to the task at hand. They have not yet developed these skills as habits or parts of their reflexive memory.

Unconscious Competence

When someone acquires unconscious competence, they can complete a task with little to no effort. They’ve done it frequently enough for it to come naturally to them. We may claim that they have mastered their craft.

We frequently speak to people going into a flow state when they are unconsciously competent.

Conscious Unconscious Competence

Returning to awareness of one’s method of operation is necessary at this point. But it is not consciousness based on ambiguity or absence of habit (such as in Stage 3).

Instead, it’s a time for the practitioner to analyze why they do things so effectively and dissect their methods so they may pass them on to others.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *